Skip to main content

A-Z Guide to Newspapers for Researching Burlington County People and Places: Newspaper information

An alphabetical guide to newspapers that will help you research Burlington County.

Research Services

Research Services

 

arrow If you are a BCLS cardholder and you are interested in requesting research, please contact our Reference Department for information.

arrow If you are not BCLS cardholder, the Burlington County Library's fees for research for non-cardholders are as follows:

Photocopies:

If you are looking for a newspaper notice of a specific event (i.e., birth, marriage, obituary/death notice, or news article) and you know the date, the BCL charge is $5.00 for the search PER NOTICE plus $.25 per photocopied page (e.g., 2 obituaries = 2 notices = $10.50).

Pre-payment is required and the fee includes postage. Please note: research fees are non-refundable.

Mail your written request with the appropriate fee to the Reference Department at the address below. Please allow 15 working days.

Contact address:

Burlington County Library
Local History/Genealogy Research Request
5 Pioneer Boulevard
Westampton, NJ 08060

We look forward to helping you with your family trees!

Indexes to Historical Burlington County Newspapers

These indexes offer researchers a number of opportunities! 

Citations are added everyday by BCLS staff and volunteers, so don't forget to search them frequently!

Introduction to our A-Z Guide

Welcome to the A-Z Guide to Newspapers for Burlington County Research.  Our goal is to provide researchers with a resource that will help them identify local newspapers that are approprate to the location and time frame of their family history or research topic.

The purpose of this guide is three-fold:

  1. Identify any newspaper, no matter where it was published, that is owned by a Burlington County Library System, its member libraries and other libraries in the Burlington County.
  2. Offer information on the location and holdings of these newspaper in local and regional libraries.
  3. Describe additional newspapers that may have published information for Burlington County researchers even if the title is not held in a Burlington County library.

Each newspaper title entry includes a brief publishing history, the publication schedule, known indexing, libraries that hold the newspaper, and any online edition of the currrent edition.

The library codes used are:

Please feel free to contact us with additional information or questions, etc.

Further information

Newspaper research often depends upon when and where your ancestor lived in Burlington County. The Burlington County Library System owns a large collection of local newspapers on microfilm, the oldest of which dates back to 1810. It is the Rural Visitor.

Check our guide to Historical Newspapers which provides a comprehensive list of newspapers in our collection. It will help you determine the most likely sources of information for your research.

Other sources of information on the history of newspapers in New Jersey are:

Print

  • "Directory of New Jersey Newspapers, 1765-1970" compiled and edited by William C. Wright and Paul A. Stellhorn (Trenton, NJ: New Jersey Historical Commission, c1977).

  • "History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820", volume 1, by Clarence S. Brigham (Worcester, MA: American Antiquarian Society, 1947).

  • "Chronological Tables of American Newspapers, 1690-1820" compiled by Edward Connery Lathem (Barre, MA: American Antiquarian Society & Barre Publishers, c1972).

Internet

Reference Department

Amelia X
Contact:
Burlington County Library

5 Pioneer Boulevard

Westampton, NJ 08060

609-267-9660 x2
Website / Blog Page